National Institute Of Technology,Kurukshetra



Name : Arun Goel
Designation : Professor
Qualification : B Tech (Hons) Civil 1985, REC KKR, MTech (Distinction)WRE 1988, REC KKR, Ph D (Civil Engg) 1999 REC KKR/KUK
Current Address :

# BB-16, N.I.T. Campus, Kurukshetra

Phone 1 (office) : 01744-233349, 01744-233300
Phone 2 (office) : 01744-238103 (R)
Email :

Area Of Interest :

Areas of Current Interest:

  • Experimental Hydraulics
  • Soft computing techniques in water resources engg
  • Water resources management
  • Water Quality

Future Plans of Academic and Research activities:

  • Development of Lab by purchasing of new and latest instrument & softwares
  • Participation/Organistaion of conferences and short term training programmes etc
  • Guiding students for research projects M Tech/Ph D
  • Projects from DST, AICTE, MHRD etc
  • Contributing more and more for the development of department and institute

Experience :

  • Teaching : 31.5 Years
  • Research: 3.5 Years

Other :

Research Publications:

1. Journals:

  • International: 45
  • National : 20

2. Conference / Seminar / Symposia etc.:

  • International : 60
  • National : 40

3. Books / Monographs / Manuals (including year & publisher): 02 (Manual)


Awards / Recognition / Honours:

  • National scholarship from Matric to B Tech degree 1980-1985
  • Best Major Project in B Tech final year 1985
  • GATE score 92.04
  • G. M. Nawathe award in the HYDRO-2000 for best paper presentation.
  • Appreciation certificate from Director for Admission to 17 REC’s and 25 other Engg colleges in Haryana (about 10000 seats) in 2002
  • Co- Chairman, in technical session in HYDRO-2004 at V.N.I.T. Nagpur.
  • Co- Chairmanin technical session in HYDRO-2007 at S.V.N.I.T. Surat.
  • Chairman, technical session in 3rdWSEAS international conference on applied & theoretical mechanics (Mechanics -07), Dec 2007, Spain.
  • Appreciation certificate 3rdWSEAS international conference on applied & theoretical mechanics, Spain, Dec 2007
  • Chairman technical session in World congress on Engineering and Computer Science, WCECS 2008, San Fransico, USA.
  • Chairperson technical session in HYDRO-2008 at M.N.I.T. Jaipur.
  • Co-Chairman technical session in River Hydraulics-2009 at Mullana.
  • Second best paper prize in an International conference on water harvesting, storage and conservation, IIT Kanpur in Nov 2009.
  • Sir Arthur Cotton Award for best research paper by IE (I) Dec2010.
  • Co-chairman in technical session in International workshop on river management by IIT Roorkee at Delhi 2010.
  • Rapporteur in technical session in national symp at M.N.I.T. Jaipur, 2010.
  • Best educator of the year award by World Management Congress 2010
  • Chairman in technical session in Inter Conf on Water Resource Management & Climate Change Adaptation, N I T Durgapur, 2011.
  • Chairman Haryana state Centre 2011-2013
  • President Vigyan Bharti Haryana 2011-2014
  • Eminent Engineering personality award by Institution of Engineers (I) 2015
  • G. M. Nawathe award in the HYDRO-2019 for best paper presentation.
  •  Membership / Fellowship of Professional Societies:
  • Fellow Institution of Engineers
  • Fellow Indian Society of Hydraulics
  • Fellow Indian Water Resources Society
  • Fellow Indian Remote Sensing Society
  • Fellow Indian Water Works Assiciation
  • Life Member Asssociation of Agrometerologists
  • Life Member System Society of India
  • Life Member Indian Society for Technical Education
  • Life Member American Society of Civil Engineers (India)
  • Life Member Vigyan Bharti Haryana
  • Life Member International Youth club of India
  • Member International Association of Engineers (Singapore)
  • Member International Association of Hydrological sciences (UK)
  • Member International Association of Hydraulic research (Spain),
  • Member Water and Environmental Research Institute, ASCE (USA) •Associate Member ASCE (USA).


Patents: 03

Ph.D Supervised:

  • Completed : 03
  • In progress : 02

M.Tech Dissertations:

  • Completed : 36
  • In progress : 03


  • Dean(Estate)
  • Dean (Faculty Welfare)
  • Chairman Canteen Committee
  • Chaiirman Monitoring Committee
  • Chairman tender opening Committee
  • P/I (Technical Socoeties)
  • Dy Chief Warden
  • Public Information Officer
  • P/I Institute Magzine
  • President Infrastructure society (students)
  • Chief venue management committee
  • Chief campus/venue decoration committee
  • Chief souvenier committee
  • Warden
  • Dy Prof in charge of institute (Academics)
  • Dy Prof in charge institute time table
  • Member admission committee AIEEE
  • Member anti ragging squad (UGC)
  • Member special flying squad
  • Centre Supdt of examinations
  • Asstt Supdt of examinations
  • NSS EC member of the institute
  • Stock verification officer
  • Member User’s group of Library
  • Member Hand book of information
  • Member road map committee
  • Member Annual report
  • Member TEQIP report and NBA report
  • Member convocation coordination committee
  • Quotation/Tender opening committee of institute/ department
  • Chairman/Purchase committee member for building material
  • Survey camp in charge
  • Member admission committee M Tech and scholarship
  • Member admission committee Ph D
  • Chairman/ member faculty scrutiny committee
  • Convener screening committee of faculty
  • Hydraulic Lab in charge
  • Departmental Academic affairs in charge
  • Departmental Academic, exams, results in charge
  • Admission committee member (CEET, NIMCET)
  • Member organizing committee of (sports, conference, seminars, workshops, cultural, convocation functions) in the institute
  • P/I In charge educational tours
  • Tutor for IGNOU / AMIE classes
  • Member board of studies Geology Department KUK
  • Member insitute  BWC special invitee
  • Member institute Senate advisory committee
  • Memeber Institute Senate
  • Member BOS
  • Member DRC
  • Member DAC


Research Collaborations:


Selected as Professor three times outside the institute

  • Professor of Hydraulic Engg, Civil Engg Deptt, Delhi College of Engineering, Delhi by U.P.S.C. 2008-09
  • Professor of Civil Engg, Delhi College of Engineering, Delhi by U.P.S.C 2008-09
  • Professor of Civil Engg, DCR Uni of Sc. & Tech Murthal, Haryana in 2010.